Abavuki Global Livestream Concert - #20YearAnniversary

calendar
Sat Jun 12, 19:00 - Sat Jun 12, 20:00
location
Gallery 44 & Theatre

About

Abavuki, South Africa's favourite afro-fusion world music ensemble, are kicking off a global year long party!


This livestream and physical event concert will showcase the infectious upbeat grooves of these musical brothers that have kept people dancing, singing and literally jumping for joy for two decades as they launch the 20th anniversary celebrations!


Hailing from Langa, Cape Town, Abavuki's tunes incorporate traditional African instruments (drums, percussion & marimbas) overlaid with brass (trumpet & trombone) to create a vibrant & contemporary Mzansi sound, firmly based on African music principles & influenced by kwaito, jazz and Latin American rhythms. Invention and creativity are the key to ensuring every concert is fresh and fun, and their high-energy, uplifting music reflects the band's optimistic outlook on life and their approach to music-making.


In December 2021, Abavuki will celebrate 20 years of playing together and are at work/play on a new album, with release planned for to coincide with a worldwide tour in late 2021 / 2022 to commemorate this milestone. The new album will feature brand new music, collaborations with local and international musicians and potentially some remixes of older material.


Whilst it has been an extremely tough 3 years for the band with 3 deaths in the family - long-time manager, Beverley Gough (Feb. 2019), musician Thulani Mtyi (May 2020) and trombonist Philip “Guz” Matsila (October 2020) - Abavuki has survived and the time is right, with the pandemic gradually being brought under control in many countries, and opportunities for touring opening up slowly, to truly celebrate the band, their music and all those who have formed part of the journey, with a spectacular 20th anniversary tour.


This launches with Abavuki's very first GLOBAL LIVESTREAM concert on 12 June 2021, showcasing some of the new music and some of the classics they are loved for!


There are 2 ticket options: both just R100 / €6 / £5.15 / US$7.30


GLOBAL LIVESTREAM:


Fans all over SA, Africa and the WORLD are invited to purchase tickets for the 1 hour long livestream concert which takes place on Sat. 12 June from 19h00 - 20h00 SA time.


Other equivalent times are as below (please check the equivalent of 19h00 SA time in your local time to ensure you connect at the right time!)


Saturday 12 June:


Africa:

17h00 UTC

18h00 WAT

19h00 SAST/CAT

20h00 EAT 


Europe and UK:

17h00 GMT

18h00 WEST

19h00 CEST

20h00 EEST/FET/MSK


North America:

10h00 PDT

12h00 CDT

13h00 EDT 


South America:

12h00 Colombia/Peru/Ecuador

13h00 Chile/Bolivia/Paraguay/Venezuela

14h00 Argentina/Brazil 


Asia:

22h30 India

01h30 ACT/CST (13 June) 


Australia/New Zealand:

03h00 ACT (13 June)

05h00 NZST (13 June)



PHYSICAL EVENT IN CAPE TOWN:


Local fans are invited to purchase tickets to attend the physical concert on 12 June 2021, at the exquisite Gallery 44 & Theatre, with all Covid regulations observed.

Gallery 44 offers a full bar as well as a delicious snack menu (pizzas, nachos, burgers and more TexMex options), with indoor and balcony seating.


ONLY 100 TICKETS AVAILABLE.


Important notes:



  • Please arrive by 18h00 latest for Covid protocols to be followed
  • Please note the concert will start PROMPTLY at 7pm and NO LATE ARRIVALS WILL BE ADMITTED INTO THE THEATRE.
  • Please note no food may be consumed in the theatre.



ADDITIONAL OPTION:


Pre-buy your digital or physical copy of the Abavuki's new album! Pre-sales will assist us with upfront costs and are greatly appreciated. Your name will be included in our supporters thank you list in the album sleeve, and if you order a physical copy, it will be signed by the band and sent to you.

Album cost R150 / €9 / £8 / US$11

National postage (SA) R100

International postage TBC once order received. Postage for the account of the fan/customer.



More about Abavuki


Achievements include:

-      winning multiple awards including the IMEXSA 2015 Export of the Year,

-      releasing four albums,

-      performing at top local & international festivals including being selected for Womex 2014 & Visa For Music 2014,

-      touring Europe (Germany, Netherlands, Belgium, Poland and more) & China,

-      being commissioned to record “Africa got Soul” to celebrate Motown’s 50th anniversary

-      and many more.


LOCAL & INTERNATIONAL NOTEWORTHY PERFORMANCES:


- Opening of the Cape Epic Race – 2020

- Bazique Festival - 2019

- Rainforest World Music Festival, Sarawak, Malaysia - 2017

- Voorkamerfest, Darling - 2015

- Ethno Port, Poznan, Poland - 2015

- Respect Festival, Prague, Czech Rep - 2015

- Oerol, Terschelling, the Netherlands - 2015

- Houtfestival, Haarlem, the Netherlands - 2015

- Fusion-Festival, Larz, Germany - 2015

- Afrikafestival, Hertme, the Netherlands - 2015

- Zomer van Antwerpen, Belgium - 2015

- Colours of Ostrava, Czech Rep - 2015

- Okarina Etno Festival, Bled, Slovenia - 2015

- Festival der Kulturen, Augsburg, Germany - 2015

- Folk Holidays, Námešt nad Oslavou, Czech Rep - 2015

- Bardentreffen, Nürnberg, Germany - 2015

- Private shows, Algeria - 2014

- “Africa Connect” festival - 2013

- Rocking the Daisies - 2013

- World Music festival in Cape Town - 2012

- Resident band for 2 months on the Viking Line ferry between Sweden and Finland - 2010

- Travelled to China in 2006, where they spent a week in each of Urumqi, Xi’ning and Beijing. Their second album “Live in China” was recorded in Xi’ing.

- Featured in BBC4 documentary with Midge Ure (ex Ultravox) – 2009


DISCOGRAPHY:


One Summer in Europe - 2015

Decade - 2012

Africa got Soul - 2009

Live in China – 2006

African Rhythms – 2004


Band Members:

Andile Makubalo, Bongani Ngesi, Thando Sishuba, Miyo Sakabula, Sabu Jiyana & Kim Masala

Rest in Peace: Gaz Matsila, Thulani Mtyi & Beverley Gough



Contact:

Nikki Froneman

Arte Viva Management

+27 (0) 84 2266 556

[email protected]

Additional information

Age restriction Family friendly
Refund policy No refunds

Location

Abavuki Global Livestream Concert - #20YearAnniversary
Gallery 44 & Theatre
44 Long St, Cape Town City Centre, Cape Town, 8000
Get Directions Get Directions

Organiser

How can we help?